Jicarilla Apache Nation Government Body

  • Jicarilla

    The Jicarilla Apache are a federally recognized tribal entity who in 1937 organized a formal government and adopted a constitution. Traditional tribal leaders were elected as their first tribal council members. In 2000 the tribe officially changed their name to the Jicarilla Apache Nation.

    The government is made up of the following branches:

    • executive, with a president and vice-president serving four-year terms
    • legislative, with eight members serving staggering four-year terms
    • judicial, tribal court and appellate court judges assigned by the president.

    Its capital is Dulce, which comprises over 95 percent of the reservation's population, near the extreme north end. Most tribal offices are located in Dulce.